Father Kevin’s Reflection – August 9, 2015 – “Then Jesus took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed them to those who were reclining…”

Posted on Updated on

eucharist1As I greet people after Mass, it’s not uncommon for someone to say: “Father, would you pray for…my spouse or my child or my friend, who is so and so, in need of prayers?” When we reflect on this week’s readings, my heart sinks as I wonder if we have any idea of the magnitude of the prayer that we just prayed together…in the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass.

Sometimes I tell them: “You know, we just prayed the most powerful prayer in the world and now you’re asking me to pray for: ( fill in the blank )…and while my prayers are good…they in no way compare to uniting our prayers with Jesus in the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass.”

When I lift up the paten and the chalice at the end of the Eucharistic Prayer, I am holding the True Presence of Jesus, and there, with Him in the Paten and the Chalice, are all the intercessions that we mentioned in: the Prayer of the Faithful, all the intercessions mentioned in the Eucharistic Prayer and the personal intercessions that we hold in our heart. And all of them are presented to the Father when I say the words: “Through Him, and with Him, and in Him, O God, almighty Father, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, all glory and honor is yours, forever and ever.”  To which, you the faithful reply, “Amen!” “It’s True” “I Believe It.” In doing so, we have just beseeched the Father for our needs in the Most Powerful and Pleasing Way Possible…because we did it in union with His Dearly Beloved Son, Jesus, present sacramentally in our Paten and Chalice!

As your Pastor, you are always in my prayers. But please realize that our prayers are most efficacious when we unite them and attach them to Jesus in the mystery of the Mass.  This is why many people come to daily Mass.  Once they realize that the Mass is the most powerful Prayer, they want to come and pray the Mass as often as possible … even daily!  And you’re invited to attend with all 10 of us.

Leave a Reply

